The Cypress Group includes the following counties:  Beaufort, Bertie, Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Dare, Gates, Greene, Hertford, Hyde, Lenoir, Martin, Northhampton, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Pitt, Tyrrell, Washington, and Wayne.

The North Carolina Chapter Cypress Group represents the interests of over 1,000 Sierra Club members in 19 counties of Eastern/Northeastern North Carolina.

Since 1892, the Sierra Club has been working to protect communities, wild places, and the planet itself. We are the oldest, largest, and most influential grassroots environmental organization in the United States.

The Cypress Group got started in 1974 under the able leadership of Phil Adler and then Earl Trevathan. Vince and Ann Bellis and John Anema joined in a couple of years later. Earl, John, and the Bellis's still live in the area and are still active members! 

Visit the Cypress Group's Website By Clicking Here!

Cypress Group Conservation Priorities

Preserve our coastal wetlands and shoreline for the beauty and enjoyment of all citizens; protect our fishing and tourism industries; and oppose terminal groins and beach nourishment, especially those schemes that would consume tax dollars.

Reduce our dependency on fossil-fuel energy by promoting the further development of alternative, renewable energy sources, especially offshore wind.

Insure a clean, safe drinking-water supply through conservation and careful management of our fresh-water resources, drought planning, conservation education, building-code modifications that would allow for the use of gray water where appropriate, and opposition to Interbasin Transfers as a way to solve water-supply problems.

Support economic development that enhances environmental sustainability without adding to the cost of long-term health care. (Air- and water-quality issues as well as the proximity to toxins should always be considered.)

Ensure that North Carolina provides necessary resources for environmental education, environmental policy development, and the enforcement of environmental regulations.

For more information, please contact the Group Chair.